Coeliac disease (also called coeliac sprue) is an autoimmune disorder of the small intestine.
It is triggered by gluten, an ingredient in grain.This is gluten, used in many products because of its good preparation and baking properties.
Eating types of grain that contain gluten, such as wheat, rye, barley, oats or spelt leads sufferers to experience an inflammatory change in the mucous membrane of the small intestine.
It can be diagnosed at any age. If coeliac disease is diagnosed, a life-long gluten-free diet is necessary for a problem-free life.
In healthy people, food is broken down into its component parts in the small intestine and passes through the mucous membrane of the small intestine into the body.
Lexicon of grains
What types of grains are gluten-free and can be safely eaten by those who have coeliac disease? And what is teff exactly?