Lupin allergy

Like soya beans, peas, lentils and beans, lupins are one of the most protein-rich pulses. They are also rich in minerals and fibre. Therefore vegetarians like to use them as a meat substitute. Like rice and maize, lupins are also naturally gluten-free.

However, particular proteins in lupins trigger allergies in more and more people. Lupin allergy can appear in isolation or as a cross reaction with peanuts. It appears in childhood as well as in adulthood. Even the tiniest amounts can trigger health problems right up to anaphylactic shock. Therefore lupins are now one of the major allergens and must also be indicated as an ingredient on packaged goods. Because of the increasing use of lupins in foods, the number of people allergic to them is also rising.