Coeliac disease cereal encyclopedia


Buckwheat is part of the botanical genus of knotweed plants. The triangular seeds resemble miniscule beechnuts. The buckwheat grains' hard, brown husks conceal greenish-brown kernels which are ground into flour.

Buckwheat is gluten-free and used in porridge, patties, dumplings, pancakes, gateaux or, if toasted, in mueslis. Buckwheat flour gives bread, waffles and other baked goods a strong, nutty and aromatic flavour.


Like wheat and rye, the oat is an ancient European cultivated plant. It used to form an essential component of the daily diet in the form of groats or porridge, which is still eaten in the UK as an extremely popular healthy breakfast Countless people are convinced that oats are particularly good for their intestinal health.


Millet is a gluten-free cereal and one of the world's oldest cultivated plants. There are various types of millet. While foxtail millet is usually used as birdseed, the round, golden-yellow grain of the proso millet is eaten widely.

A peculiarity of millet: nutrients are located in the grain as a whole, and not just concentrated in the outer layers. The absorbent grains are therefore greatly appreciated as a premium cereal used in wholefood nutrition. Like oats, millet is a cereal with an extremely high nutritional value.


Corn originated in America. With a height of over 2.50 metres, it is probably the most impressive plant in the cereal family.

Corn can be used in a wide variety of ways. The golden-yellow corn kernels are perfect as a vegetable side dish or in salads. Ground into grits, corn becomes the basis for polenta and can be made into pancakes, puddings and cakes in the form of flour. Cornflour has been the basis for tortillas in Latin America for centuries, where it is a widespread basic staple food. Corn is particularly popular with children, who enjoy eating popcorn or cornflakes.

Even though corn is gluten-free, people with coeliac disease should ensure they purchase special gluten-free corn products. This is because many brands of cornflakes include other ingredients containing gluten.


Rice originates from South-East Asia, and is one of the world's most important agricultural crops. It is a staple food for over half the world's population.

The terms for "rice" and "food" are synonymous in the majority of Asian languages. This demonstrates the importance of this cereal for Asian nutrition, where rice has been cultivated for around 7,000 years.

The rice plant, whose Latin name is Oryza sativa, is part of the grass family, is gluten-free and is characterized by its high diversity as regards optical appearance and taste. Processed into flakes, rice is a frequent ingredient in baby mash, desserts, soups and muesli blends. Due to their gelatinization properties, rice flour and rice flour blends are suitable for the production of gluten-free bread and baked goods.


Teff (also known as dwarf millet) is a member of the grass family and originates from Ethiopia. Teff grains are so small that they are processed into wholemeal flour together with the glume. This makes teff one of the few gluten-free cereals to be ground as wholemeal flour. The flour is rich in fibre and contains valuable proteins. Teff's delicious aroma is mild, nutty and slightly sweet.

With all these advantages, the little Teff also provides great variety: for breads, pastries, snacks, pancakes and breadcrumbs - and even as a binder for soups and sauces - teff flour is an ideal base.

Teff is extremely popular with "gluten-free bakers" because it is far easier to process, and there's no need to weigh it to the last milligramme! Their excellent water retention properties ensure that teff products stay soft and moist for a long period.

3 PAULY has created a wide range of gluten-free bread, flour and pasta specialities containing teff flour.