A diet for lactose intolerance

What contains lactose?

As well as typical milk products such as milk, condensed milk, dried milk, cream, crème fraîche, sour cream, buttermilk, yoghurt, custard, kefir, whey, quark and cheese (such as fresh, cottage and soft cheese) numerous other foodstuffs can also contain lactose.

This can be identified on the list of ingredients by terms such as

  • Milk,
  • Whey powder,
  • Whole milk or
  • skimmed milk powder.

Because lactose is one of the major allergens, any product that uses it must be labelled appropriately. For this reason, you can tell if lactose or milk is contained in a product from the list of ingredients.


Lactose can also be contained in the following foods:

  • Bread, bread rolls, crispbread, biscuits, cakes, pastries, wafers, desserts,
  • ready meals, pizza, preserves,
  • creamed vegetables, casseroles, soups, marinades and salad dressings,
  • prepared potato dishes, instant mashed potato, potato croquettes, chips,
  • cold meats, sausages
  • ice cream, chocolate, nougat and mousses containing nougat, praline, boiled sweets, caramel, muesli and cereal bars,
  • instant soups, instant sauces, instant creams, burger mixes,
  • infant formula, probiotic foods,
  • medicines,
  • flavourings and spice blends (used as a carrier)

Not only cow's milk but also the milk of other mammals such as goats and sheep contains lactose and is therefore not an alternative for those who are lactose-intolerant.